将微胶囊或微杯架构制成的电子墨水,涂布于一层塑料薄膜上,这张薄膜可以被切割成任何形状或尺寸。

切割完成的电子墨水薄膜层(Film),贴覆上薄膜晶体管(TFT)电路后,就可利用电场来控制微胶囊或微杯内粒子的跑动,呈现出我们看到的各种图面、文字或颜色。

一卷电子墨水薄膜层(Film)流淌于波士顿Charles河畔

E Ink的电子墨水薄膜层可能被贴覆于任何表面上,包含玻璃、塑料、织品,甚至是纸张上,电子墨水薄膜层能使任何表面都变成电子显示屏,让信息或设计抛开传统电子仪器的限制,围绕在我们的生活周围。

而电子纸模组则是能让产品快速上市的解决方案。电子纸模组是一组完整的显示屏,涵盖TFT、电子墨水薄膜、保护膜、驱动用的电子组件和连接器,能应用于许多终端产品。而有显示屏模组制造能力的客户,可与E Ink合作开发电子纸显示屏模组。

E Ink依据不同的应用需求,开发制造许多不同种类的电子墨水薄膜(Film)。

E Ink Carta™

E Ink Carta™较上一代电子墨水薄膜提升了50%的对比度,让电子书阅读器的黑白对比更接近于纸本书籍。Carta电子纸支持16级灰度,可呈现渲染、渐变等图面效果,锐利的字体及细致的图案细节,在阳光直射下也能清晰阅读。

E Ink Carta支援Regal™图像更新技术,几乎无需全面刷新画面,透过更顺畅的翻页,读者能拥有更专注的阅读过程。

E Ink Carta电子纸显示模组由TFT (Thin Film Transistor, 薄膜晶体管)、电子墨水薄膜层及保护膜所构成。也可将触控解决方案整合进显示屏模组里,E Ink目前提供电磁式(Digitizer)和电阻式(Capacitive)触控解决方案。

电磁式触控技术利用电磁笔与显示屏互动,触控传感器位于TFT层的下方。电容式使用手指即可操作屏幕,传感器位于显示屏模组上方。但无论选择什么触控方案,都不会影响电子纸显示屏的反射率。

应用领域

E Ink Carta显示屏是各种需要动态显示内容的理想选择,主要包含:

  • 电子书阅读器
  • 移动装置 (智能手机、手机背盖等)
  • 电子货架标签
  • 穿戴式装置
  • 运动追踪器或医疗应用
  • 从小至大尺寸的电子看板

E Ink Pearl™

E Ink Pearl™提供了堪比纸书的对比度,Pearl电子纸支持16级灰度,可呈现渲染、渐变等图面效果,锐利的字体及细致的图案细节,在阳光直射下也能清晰阅读。

E Ink Pearl在反应速度上提升至 50-250ms。

E Ink Pearl电子纸显示模组由TFT (Thin Film Transistor, 薄膜晶体管)、电子墨水薄膜层及保护膜所构成。也可将触控解决方案整合进显示屏模组里,E Ink目前提供电磁式(Digitizer)和电阻式(Capacitive)触控解决方案。

电磁式触控技术利用电磁笔与显示屏互动,触控传感器位于TFT层的下方。电容式使用手指即可操作屏幕,传感器位于显示屏模组上方。但无论选择什么触控方案,都不会影响电子纸显示屏的反射率。

应用领域

E Ink Pearl显示屏适用于多方面领域,包括:

  • 电子书阅读器
  • 遥控器、温控器等
  • 医疗应用,例如血糖仪、血压計的屏幕
  • 时尚手表、手环等配件
  • 商店促销广告看板
  • 室内电子看板

E Ink Spectra™

E Ink Spectra™是首款量产的三色电子纸显示屏,特别适用于零售、电子货架标签应用。

E Ink Spectra提供与其他黑白系列电子纸相同的高对比度度、阳光下可视、低耗电量等优异特性,但多了一个新色彩!目前E Ink Spectra可支持黑、白、红或黑、白、黄三色粒子,预计未来可提供更多的颜色选择。

使用电子纸电子货架标签后,零售商可实时更新售价,在瞬息万变的市场变化下透过定价策略领先竞争对手。而Spectra的红色或黄色,特别适合用在促销价格或产品销售重点,能有效吸引消费者的注意力,加强电子货架标签对于消费者的影响力和效益。

Spectra的运作原理与其他电子墨水类似,施加不同的电压,使不同颜色的粒子移动至上层,看见不同的颜色。不同的是Spectra使用了微杯技术(Microcup®),而非微胶囊。

应用

E Ink Spectra是电子货架标签、物流标签或互联网应用的理想首选。

E Ink Aurora™

E Ink Aurora™是针对零售业、物流业在冰箱或冷藏库的低温环境需求而开发。Aurora的操作环境可在-15~10度C、以及0~50度C下,并且一样提供电子纸的优异特色:类纸、广视角、易读等。另外,Aurora电子纸显示屏是低功耗驱动,仅使用两个钮扣电池,可运作长达五年。

应用

E Ink Aurora特别适用于电子货架标签、物流标签、或其他互联网应用。

E Ink Prism™

E Ink Prism™称为可变色电子纸,可在双色间作颜色渐变或闪动,并能自由切割成任意形状。室内设计师、建筑师或艺术家能利用Prism,让原本是静态的建筑墙面、艺术作品流动起来,动态变化颜色或图案。例如Prism可改变墙面、吊頂或整个房间的颜色、或是创造一个交互式的装置艺术。

E Ink Prism一样是双稳态的电子墨水技术,不发光,故在赋予物体动态表现时,能与环境融为一体,创造特殊的氛围和互动体验。

Prism能依据使用情境,以程序设定和控制变化的时机和模式,故不只有艺术表现,也能兼具功能性,使得我们的生活环境有更多的惊喜和美感,例如门的颜色切换可显示里面是否有人、墙面的颜色变换可反映温度、分贝数等环境参数。Prism正等待更多设计师的想象和运用,展现无止尽的创意和可能。

E Ink SURF™

E Ink Segmented段码电子纸,是将所需显示数字或图案的区域先刻在背板上,再依据需要的号码或图案,做黑白之间的切换,藉以呈现出不同的图案或数字组合。

Segmented段码电子纸可切割成圆形、三角形、或其他形状,应用上十分弹性。也因为段码电子纸显示器是在有限的显示区域内,做单纯黑白的切换,故比一般用于电子书阅读器的主动矩阵电子纸更为简易和省电,系统能更为简易、快速、稳定并节省成本。

E Ink提供两种类型的段码电子纸:段码显示器组件(Segmented Display Cells,简称SDCs),以及段码显示器模组(Segmented Display Modules,简称SDMs)。

SDCs是单一的显示器组件,不包含嵌入式的电子组件,一般而言以15V电压驱动。SDC通常被用于较简单的设计,例如较少的段码数、或较少的接脚(pin)。SDC适用于有足够空间、及PCB板整合限制较少的情况下。

SDMs是电子纸显示屏模组,包含了电子纸显示屏和电子组件,适用于整体解决方案的需求。SDM凭借减少MCU和显示屏间的接脚(pin),使系统整合时更为简便容易,连接至PCB板的空间需求也比较少。

E Ink Surf™则是在段码电子纸表面上附加一层彩色覆盖层(Color Overlay),能依据各环境的设计风格,呈现多彩丰富的样貌。例如木纹、石纹、磁砖、大理石花纹等,无缝与各种环境结合。

应用

段码电子纸应用非常广,从智能卡、电子货架标签、到各种消费性电子、手表、医疗仪器屏幕、工业仪表板、室内装修、礼品配件市场等,均有宽广用途。

Films

Once the electronic ink microcapsules or microcups have been created, the ink is laminated onto a roll of plastic film that can be cut into different shapes and sizes. These cut parts are then affixed to layer of circuitry that can create an electric field across the microcapsule or microcup. It is this electric field that causes the ink to move within the microcapsules or microcups and switch from one state, or color, to another.

Electronic ink microcapsules have been created and laminated onto a roll of plastic film. A roll of ePaper runs down by Charles River, Boston.

The E Ink plastic film can be applied onto virtually any surface, including glass, plastic, fabric and even paper. Ultimately electronic ink will permit most any surface to become a display, bringing information out of the confines of traditional devices and into the world around us.

Most customers will find a module solution the easiest and fastest route to market; a module is a completed display, including TFT, Ink layer, Protective Sheet, driver electronics and connector. It is ready for integration into a customer's end product design. E Ink sells modules in a variety of configurations.

For those customers who have module making capacities in house, including access to a TFT fab, E Ink will consider joint development partnerships. Contact our sales team for further information.

E Ink manufacturers a number of EPD films, with different attributes depending on application needs.

E Ink Carta™

E Ink Carta™ delivers a dramatic 50% increase in contrast over earlier generations, giving displays a contrast ratio close to that of a paperback book. The crisp text and detailed graphics are also highly readable in direct sunlight. Carta's 16 levels of grey produce the sharpest rendering of images with smooth tones and rich detail.

E Ink Carta supports the Regal™ technology for image updates. Regal virtually eliminates the need for a full refresh, giving the viewer smoother viewing transitions.

E Ink Carta modules consist of a TFT (thin film transistor), Ink layer and Protective Sheet. In addition, product designers can include a touch solution, which is incorporated into the module stack. E Ink currently offers digitizer and capacitive touch solutions. Digitizer touch technology utilizes a stylus to update the display, with the touch sensor sitting under the TFT. Capacitive touch technology utilizes finger swipes, and is placed on top of the display module. E Ink's touch solutions will not affect the reflectivity of the display.

Applications

E Ink Carta Displays are ideal for a variety of dynamic content applications including:

  • eReaders
  • Mobile Devices (Smartphones, Mobile Phone Cases)
  • Electronic Shelf Labels (ESL)
  • Wearable Electronics Devices
  • Medical and Fitness Information Devices
  • Digital Signage (Large and Small)

E Ink Pearl™

E Ink Pearl™ gives eReaders a contrast ratio close to that of a paperback book. The crisp text and detailed graphics are also highly readable in direct sunlight. Pearl's 16 levels of grey produce the sharpest rendering of images with smooth tones and rich detail.

E Ink Pearl offers update times ranging from 50-250ms. In addition, E Ink Pearl supports localized animation for more enticing advertising content for eNewspaper or eMagazines and a richer educational experience in eTextbooks.

E Ink Pearl modules consist of a TFT (thin film transistor), Ink layer and Protective Sheet. In addition, product designers can include a touch solution, which is incorporated into the module stack. E Ink currently offers digitizer and capacitive touch solutions. Digitizer touch technology utilizes a stylus to update the display, with the touch sensor sitting under the TFT. Capacitive touch technology utilizes finger swipes, and is placed on top of the display module. E Ink's touch solutions will not affect the reflectivity of the display.

Applications

E Ink Pearl Displays are ideal for a variety of dynamic content applications including:

  • eReaders
  • Wireless devices — remotes, game controllers
  • Health & Fitness Displays — cyclometers, Ultra-mobile PND, glucose monitors
  • Fashion and performance watches
  • Thermostats
  • Mobile point of sale units (signature pads)
  • In-store signage

E Ink Spectra™

E Ink Spectra™ is the first three pigment electronic ink offered in mass production and is available for retail and electronic shelf tag labels. EPDs using Spectra offer the same high-contrast, sunlight readable, low-power performance attributes of our other display types - now with a pop of color. The first generation of Spectra features black, white and red or yellow pigments, and we expect to release additional colors in the future.

By using electronic shelf labels (ESL) with E Ink's technology, retailers have the ability to change pricing strategies as needed in real time, allowing them to stay one step ahead of competitors while attracting consumers based on changing market conditions. Spectra allows retailers to elevate the impact of their ESLs, by adding color to logos and quickly directing consumers' attention to important information, such as product sales and promotions.

Spectra works similarly to our other inks, in that we apply a charge to our pigments, and to a top and bottom electrode to facilitate movement. However, Spectra is utilizing a microcup ink structure, rather than the microcapsules we are known for.

Applications

E Ink Spectra has been tuned for non-eReader applications, and is ideal for electronic shelf labels (ESLs), medical and logistics markets.

Learn more about Spectra ink.

E Ink Aurora™

E Ink Aurora™ was developed to address retailers' needs to integrate digital signage into cold temperature display cases, such as refrigerators or freezers. With operating temperature ranges of -15 to 10 degrees C and 0 to 50 degrees C, Aurora offers the same benefits as E Ink's other display platforms - paper-like readability with a wide viewing angle. In addition, displays using Aurora are low power, running off of 2 small cell batteries, with a life-time of 5 years.

Applications

E Ink Aurora has been tuned for non-eReader applications, and is ideal for electronic shelf labels (ESLs) and smart cards in the retail, medical and logistics markets.

E Ink Prism™

E Ink Prism™ was created for the architecture and design markets. Manufacturers and designers have the ability to integrate innovative films with architectural products to dynamically change colors, patterns, and habitats. E Ink Prism utilizes E Ink’s bi-stable ink technology in a film that can transform architectural materials into dynamic, one of a kind experiences and designs. E Ink Prism can change the color of a wall, ceiling panel, or entire room instantly, at the flip of a switch.

It doesn’t stop at color. Programmable patterns and shapes can be integrated to create designs or function. Doors can indicate if a conference room is occupied, wall designs can respond to noise, temperature, or motion in the room. Whatever the idea, the opportunities are endless and only limited by a designer’s imagination.

E Ink SURF™

E Ink SURF Segmented displays are ultra-low power, thin, and rugged. E Ink's unique reflective display technology is sunlight readable and can display an image with no power. This enables engineers and designers to add displays to products where power and space limitations have made it impossible to do so before.

E Ink Segmented displays can be manufactured in any 2D shape such a circle, triangle, or abstract shape, enhancing industrial designs. In addition, E Ink's unique capabilities allow for the foreground and background to be reversed from black on white or white on black.

E Ink offers two types of Segmented displays: Segmented Display Cells (SDCs), and Segmented Display Modules (SDMs).

SDCs are independent display cells that do not include any embedded electronics; they can be driven at either 5V or 15V. Typically, SDCs are used in simpler designs with lower segment counts and fewer pin outs. Designs that have adequate space and less restrictive PCB integration needs are ideal for SDC applications.

SDMs include an integrated E Ink display driver for a complete display solution, typically for designs that have demanding integration requirements. SDMs simplify the integration effort by reducing the number of pin outs required between the MCU and display. As a result, less space is needed for connection to the PCB.

Applications

Applications for the technology are broad, including a wide variety of consumer electronics, watches, medical devices, industrial gauges, PC accessories, smart cards, electronic shelf labels, and mobile communications.