配备 12 英寸液晶显示器 (屏) 的设备使用超过 20 小时:36 节 AA 电池。配备 12 英寸电子墨水显示器 (屏) 的设备使用超过 20 小时:1 节 AA 电池。

全球的移动设备、计算机及标牌中有 60 亿个电子显示屏,耗电量高达 230 万兆瓦时。

E Ink 显示屏较之于液晶显示屏可节能 60%。

电子纸显示屏与液晶显示屏对比

俗话说,“省钱就是赚钱。”便携式设备的用电也是同样的道理;省电越多,性能越好、尺寸越小,重量也就越轻。这是为什么呢?因为平均而言,一台配备 12 英寸液晶显示屏的设备使用 20 小时,耗电相当于 36 节 AA 电池,而一台配备同尺寸 E Ink 电子纸显示屏的耗电却仅只相当于 1 节 AA 电池。这就意味着,配备 E Ink 电子纸显示屏的设备电源可以仅重几盎司,而配备液晶显示屏的设备电源却重几镑。这对产品设计所带来的影响非常之大。

换而言之,在正常使用条件下,配备 E Ink 电子纸显示屏的阅读器充一次电可使用三个星期,而液晶显示屏在使用短短的一天半后便需要再次充电。如果您能将这种显著提高的电源效率应用到汽车上,则相当于加满油箱可供汽车行驶长达六个月的时间。

电子纸与印刷纸对比

E Ink 电子纸显示屏相对于印刷页的优势很容易通过消费者的碳足迹大小衡量出来。首先,我们都知道树木会吸附 CO2。但您是否知道仅一棵树每年就能从空气中吸附约一吨 CO2?平均而言,每砍伐一棵树可生产出 173 令纸。因此,每令纸相当于每年少从大气中吸附掉大约 12 磅 CO2。1

这些数字越来越引起人们的注意。2004 年,全球纸张产量为 3.59 亿吨,在其生产过程中排放的 CO2 为 7400 万吨。1我们每年砍伐约十亿棵树用于造纸,2并且造出来的纸中有一部分被焚烧,从而产生更多的碳排放量。一个星期天的报纸用纸量就需要砍伐 50 万棵树 2

相反,美国加州大学伯克利分校的一项研究表明,与阅读纸质报纸相比,阅读电子报纸可减少 32 至 140 倍的 CO2 排放,用水量可减少 27 倍。3简而言之,电子纸与印刷纸之间的差异在短短的一天内便会对大气中的 CO2 产生巨大影响。如果我们将来能够用电子报纸取代所有纸质报纸,则每年可以少砍伐 9500 万棵树,4从而能吸附掉 9800 万吨温室气体。1

1 James DeRosa, Global Warming Initiatives, Inc. 5/3/2007 www.greenpdf.com
2 www.recycling-revolution.com
3 Vivian Song, “电子墨水,无纸显示技术拯救树木和环境”,2010 年 Toronto Sun.com
4 “新一代的电纸书有助于环境保护”,2009 年 7 月 20 日 Digital Book Readers.com

Skip navigation
12-inch LCD-Equipped Device over 20 Hours: 36 AA Batteries. 12-inch E Ink Display Equipped Device over 20 hours: 1 AA Battery.

There are 6 billion electronic displays in mobile devices, computers and signage worldwide consuming 2,300,000 Megawatt Hours.

E Ink Displays save 60% energy vs. LCD.

Electronic Paper Displays vs. LCD Displays

You've heard the old saying, "a penny saved is a penny earned." The same is true of power in the portable device sector; the more power one can save, the more one earns in terms of performance, size and weight. Why? Consider that, on average, A 12” LCD-equipped device uses, in 20 hours, the equivalent of 36 AA batteries while an E Ink 12-inch display uses just one battery's worth. What this means is that the power supply for an E Ink equipped device can weigh a few ounces as opposed to a few pounds when it comes to its equivalent LCD counterpart. The ramifications for product design are dramatic.

Explained another way, under normal usage conditions, an E Ink enabled reader will last three weeks on a single charge while an LCD-based display will need to be recharged after just one and a half days. If you could apply such a dramatic increase in power efficiency to the automobile, that would be like running for six months on a single tank of gas.

ePaper vs. Printed Paper

The benefits of E Ink over the printed page can easily be measured in the size of the consumer's carbon footprint. First, we all know that trees breathe in CO2. But did you know that a single tree can remove about one metric ton of CO2 from the air every year? On average, each harvested tree produces 173 reams if paper. Therefore, each ream of paper is the equal to roughly 12 pounds of CO2 that will not be removed from the atmosphere every year.1

The numbers become more and more compelling from there. In 2004, world paper production was equal to 359 million metric tons, emitting 74 million metric tons of CO2 in its production.1 We throw away approximately one billion trees worth of paper each year,2 and a portion of that paper is incinerated, creating more carbon emissions. One Sunday's worth of newspapers require the cutting of 500,000 trees2.

Conversely, a study out of the University of California Berkeley shows that reading a newspaper electronically releases 32 to 140 times less CO2 and uses 27 times less water than reading the paper version.3 In short, the difference between electronic ink and printed paper could have a dramatic effect on CO2 in the atmosphere in just one day. If we could replace all paper newspapers with eNewspapers tomorrow, 95 million trees4 that would remove 98 million tons of greenhouse gas every year could be saved.1

1 James DeRosa, Global Warming Initiatives, Inc. 5/3/2007 www.greenpdf.com
2 www.recycling-revolution.com
3 Vivian Song, Electronic Ink, Paperless Display Technology Saves Trees and The Environment, 2010 Toronto Sun.com
4 New Generation of e-book Readers Contributes to Environmental Protection, 7/20/09 Digital Book Readers.com