企业社会责任

Loading

董事长的话


「透过开发先进电子纸技术,提供革命性产品、更佳的用户经验以及环境效益」是元太科技的企业经营理念,我们在追求企业成长的同时,更希望能为人类社会创造价值,尽到企业社会责任,成为永续发展的全球企业。


延续2015年的承诺,元太科技在经历几年的体质改善与公司转型后,已于2016年交出公司营运转亏为盈的成绩单,并将经营成果回馈给投资股东、员工及社会,公司也投注更多资源与心力,期望能善尽企业公民的角色。


为了落实元太科技的企业社会责任工作,我们于2016年3月正式成立企业社会责任(CSR)委员会,由公司营运中心副总经理担任委员会主委,并邀集公司相关部门主管组成委员会小组,让公司的企业社会责任工作推动得以更有系统及规划性地展开,并定期向董事长暨执行长报告成果。

 

行动支持绿电获颁企业远见奬

除了公司已贯彻执行的各厂区节能、节电、与节水的环保行动,元太科技持续为支持永续环境而努力,积极响应政府近年来所推动的能源转型,鼓励各界采用在电力生产过程中二氧化碳排放量为零或趋近于零之绿色电力(简称绿电),以降低电力耗能对环境的冲击。


自2015年起,元太科技在台湾新竹厂区已率先认购50万度绿电,在2016年更加码至100万度。公司认购绿电之积极作为获得经济部颁奖肯定,所认购绿电之数量在所有的科技制造业中名列第三,获得经济部能源局于「绿电感恩赏」活动中表扬,并获颁「企业远见奖」。

 

全球厂区展开社会公益与关怀行动

元太科技的营运范围横跨亚洲地区与美国,本着「取之于社会,用之于社会」的精神,公司在台湾、中国大陆、与美国同步持续投入社会公益关怀活动。在台湾,公司于2016年台南大地震后,率企业之先,主动捐款新台币200万元给台南市政府,表达公司对震灾灾民的关怀,及对灾后重建工作的支持。而因应尼伯特台风于台东造成的灾害,公司也与台东家扶中心合作,发动员工捐款活动,筹募灾害重建项目基金。


元太的扬州厂区及同仁们自2012年起即自发性的投入及响应「麦田计划」公益活动,集结员工及公司捐赠的善款,为中国大陆偏乡小学学童购买御寒衣物及雪鞋等上学必备物资,并投入建立多媒体教室,以协助当地学童学习新知,缩小城乡落差。而在美国厂区的同仁们也自主成立在地关怀委员会(Ad Hoc Philanthropic Committee, AHPC),透过委员会发起员工募款与物资募集活动,资助在地社群。自2011至2016年已募得56,199美元(约新台币170万元)之善款及物资,帮助当地弱势社群。

 

公司治理公开透明获肯定

元太科技在强化公司治理亦不遗余力,公司于2014年起设置审计委员会,定期召开会议,相关议题也均依法揭露,办理重大信息公告,力求公司治理公开且透明。在连续三年的公司治理评鉴中,元太科技都名列前百分之二十。2016年并荣获25届优秀内部稽核人员奖,肯定稽核人员协助管理阶层检查及评估内部控制制度,增进企业组织的营运绩效。

 

持续创新研发稳健成长

由于公司对于核心产品 - 电子纸产品应用的持续研发投入,在2016年我们获得国内外数个奬项的肯定,包括台湾精品奬、美国SID显示展的最佳展品等国际肯定,而多元化产品应用实绩例如电子纸行李箱标签、或应用于博物馆多国语言导览说明看板,都在改变人们的生活方式,透过电子纸的应用让人们能获得更舒适更便捷的价值。元太科技将持续投入多元产品应用的创新研发,以稳健脚步推动公司成长,更将继续实践企业社会责任,致力作为良好企业公民。

元太科技董事长暨执行长
柯富仁

元太科技永续政策

元太科技为永丰余集团转投资之电子纸及液晶显示器专业研发、设计、制造公司,历经数年稳健经营及数次转型发展,终有今日丰硕成果。承续永丰余之专业造纸技术,承先启后、继往开来,元太科技秉持「创新、纪律、团队」的基本精神、 当责的工作文化One Team, One E Ink的营运思维,发展新世代产品,向改变人类生活及创造社会价值贡献心力。


我们承诺考虑以下各种面向,投入资源、积极付出,持续改善,希冀能善尽企业社会责任,坚持企业永续发展的决心。

 

企业社会责任委员会

元太科技于2016年初成立企业社会责任委员会,首要工作即为编撰企业社会责任报告书。先进行内部教育训练,提升种子人员的认知,熟悉GRI-G4条文,再请各部门依照所属权责范围进行对应,提交数据及说明报告,并经汇整而成企业社会责任报告书。


同时,依各功能小组之职务属性编组,安排会议讨论执行事项,规划及实施永续活动,持续推动企业社会责任及永续发展等相关工作。

 

利害关系人回应

元太科技之利害关系人与重大议题鉴别,系参考AA 1000 SES利害关系人议合原则(AA 1000 Stakeholder Engagement Standard),藉此了解利害关系人所关切的重大环境、社会及公司治理相关议题。元太科技透过企业社会责任委员会(CSR委员会)召集各部门代表,依据利害关系人对元太科技的依赖程度、影响力、关注程度、责任和多元观点等五个面向进行评估,最后依照重要性鉴别出9类主要的利害关系人。

 

重大议题鉴别与管理

为辨识报告书边界,并确定本报告书揭露的信息尽可能涵盖利害关系人所关切的议题及面向,元太科技根据前述利害关系人鉴别的结果,透过CSR委员会与相关单位进行重大议题鉴别。元太科技参照GRIG4指南有关界定报告内容的方式及重大考虑面的判断原则,以「议题本身对组织经济、环境及社会的影响程度」为X轴,「议题对利害关系人评估与决策的影响程度」为Y轴,由元太科技各部门代表评估各利害关系人关切的议题,并经过高阶主管的讨论,最后将评估结果汇整并区分出元太科技高度敏感的「核心议题」,中度敏感的「主要议题」,以及低度敏感的「补充议题」。本报告书的信息揭露以及未来企业营运的策略,将着重于回应核心议题与主要议题,并适时展现补充议题的成果绩效,满足部分利害关系人之期待。

元太科技2016年度企业社会责任报告揭露的24项重大议题以矩阵图方式呈现如图,经由鉴别及排序可划分为8项核心议题、10项主要议题及6项补充议题。

环安卫能政策


环保优先、安全至上、全员参与、永续经营

元太科技于1992年由永丰余集团于新竹科学工业园区投资创立,主要从事薄膜晶体管液晶显示器(TFT-LCD)、电子纸(EPD)、其他新显示及周边技术之研发、制造与销售。本公司管理阶层甚为重视员工的安全与健康,以及关心环保能源议题,并且深信企业经营必须以安全卫生、环保及能源考虑为基础,藉由适当的安全卫生环保及能源评量工具,提出管理方案并落实到日常运作管制之中,达成安全作业、清洁生产及环保节能的目标,方能达成企业永续经营。基于上述体认,我们承诺持续改善,并做到:

 


自2002年起,元太科技各厂陆续通过ISO14001认证,此外,新竹厂及扬州厂自2005年起,透过ISO14064-1温室气体盘查及外部查证作业,取得各年度查证声明,而林口厂虽非环保署强制温室气体盘查申报公告对象,也自发性地进行温室气体盘查与外部查证作业,透过盘查结果,检视公司内部节能减碳之成效,并以此作为未来进步的依据。

 

CSR report

Corporate Social Responsibility

Loading

Letter from the Chairman & CEO

“Develop various advanced technologies for revolutionary products, a better user experience, and more environmental benefits” is our corporate mission. In addition to pursuing business growth, we hope to create more value for society, fulfill our corporate social responsibility, and become a global enterprise of sustainable development.

By extending the 2015 commitment, we successfully turned losses into gains in 2016 and repaid the yield to investors, shareholders, employees, and society after organizational improvement and transformation over the past few years. We also invested more resources and efforts, hoping to fulfill our corporate social responsibility.

To show our determination to promote corporate social responsibility (CSR), we officially established the CSR Committee on March 2016. Chaired by the vice president of the operational center, the committee is composed of various divisions formed by the heads of related departments to promote CSR within the organization in a more consistent and organized manner. The committee also reports to the Board of the Chairman and CEO periodically.

Perspective Enterprise Award for Green Power Support

In addition to implementing various environmental actions, including energy conservation, power conservation, and water conservation, in all E Ink plants, we spare no effort to support environmental sustainability, support of the government’s policy to promote energy transformation, and encourage industries to use green power with zero or near zero emissions in the production process, in order to reduce the environmental impacts of power consumption.

In 2015, Hsinchu Plant began purchasing 500,000kWh of green power and increased the purchase to 1,000,000kWh in 2016. Our positive efforts to support green power purchasing were recognized by the Ministry of Economic Affairs.

Amongst all high-tech industries, we purchased the third highest amount of green power, and were thus awarded with the “Perspective Enterprise Award” at the “Green Power Appreciation Award” event from the Bureau of Energy, Ministry of Economic Affairs.

Actions for Social Inclusiveness and Care

Our territory of operations covers Asia and the USA. Upholding the spirit: Contributing what is taken from society to society, we synchronously and persistently implement social care activities in Taiwan, China, and the USA. In Taiwan, we were the first to voluntarily donate NT$2 million to the Tainan City Government after the 2016 Taiwan earthquake to extend our concerns for the victims and support for post-disaster reconstruction. After typhoon Nepartak devastated Taitung, we collaborated with the Taiwan Fund for Children and Families Taitung to start an employee donation campaign to raise funds for the post-disaster reconstruction fund.

The Yangzhou Plant and employees voluntarily signed up to and supported the Maitian Project in 2012. In this charitable operation, employees and the Yangzhou Plant made donations to purchase required schooling materials, such as winter clothes and snowshoes, for students in remote areas and invest in multimedia classroom construction to help local students acquire new knowledge, in order to bridge the urban-rural divide. Employees of the USA Plant have independently established the Ad Hoc Philanthropic Committee (AHPC) to initiate employee donation and material recruitment in order to finance local communities. Between 2011 and 2016, AHPC has recruited materials equivalent to US$56,199 (approx. NT$1.7 million) to help local vulnerable groups.

Recognition for Open and Transparent Governance

We also spare no effort in strengthening corporate governance. In 2014, we established an audit committee which holds committee meetings periodically. We also disclose related topics and publicize material information by law to achieve open and transparent corporate governance. Over the past three years, we have been ranked the top 20% of the best the Corporate Governance Evaluation. In 2016, we were awarded the 25th Outstanding Internal Auditor Award to recognize the efforts of auditors to assist the management on inspecting and assessing the internal control system to enhance the organization’s operational performance.

Persistent Innovation and Development and Steady Growth

In 2016, we were awarded at home and abroad for our persistent research and development of our core product—ePaper products and applications. These awards included the Taiwan Excellence Award and the “Best in Show” at the Society for Information Display (SID) Intentional Conference. In addition, the successful application of the ePaper in various fields, such as the e-luggage tag, or the multilingual guided tour signage in museums, has been changing our daily life. With the ePaper, people can enjoy a more comfortable and convenient life. E Ink will continue to develop and innovate ePaper applications in order to promote steady organizational growth. We will also continue to fulfill our corporate social development to become a good corporate citizen.

Frank Ko
Chairman and CEO
E Ink Holdings Inc.

Vision and Mission of Sustainable Development

E Ink Sustainability Policy

As a specialist in ePaper and LCD R&D, design, and manufacturing company re-invested in by YFY, E Ink has undergone steady operations for years and several transformations before achieving today’s success. Extending YFY’s papermaking expertise, strength from strength, E Ink upholds its “Innovation, Discipline, and Teamwork” business philosophy; work culture of accountability; and “One Team, One E Ink” operational thinking to develop new-generation products and contribute to changing human life and creating social value. It is our commitment to investing in resources and making aggressive contributions and continual improvement in consideration of the following aspects, hoping to fulfill our corporate social responsibilities and uphold our determination to sustainable development.

CSR Committee

In early 2016, we established the CSR Committee with a prime mission to compile the annual CSR Report. At the beginning of establishment, we arranged internal education and training for seed staff to raise awareness and to get familiar with GRI G4 guidelines. Then, we asked all departments to provide data, explanations, and reports with regard to the GRT G4 guidelines based on their roles and responsibilities in order for the CSR Committee to compile the 2015 CSR Report which was published in June 2016.

In addition, we set up different divisions according to the duties of each functional group and held meetings to discuss their tasks, plan and implement sustainable activities, in order to constantly promote work relating to CSR and sustainable development.

Stakeholders Communication

Response to Stakeholders

At E Ink, we identify stakeholders and material topics with respect to the AA 1000 Stakeholder Engagement Standard (AA 1000 SES), in order to understand the material environmental, social, and governance topics that concern stakeholders. At the CSR Committee meeting, representatives of the E Ink departments assessed the stakeholders in terms of five aspects: dependency, influence, tension, responsibility, and diverse perspectives (AA 1999 SES: 2011) before identifying nine main stakeholder groups.

Identification and Management of Material

To identify the report boundary and to ensure that the information disclosed in this report can best cover the topics and aspects that concern stakeholders, we have identified material topics with regard to the identified stakeholder groups in collaboration with the CSR Committee and relevant units. Based on the methods for defining report contents and the principles for determining material aspects in the GRI G4 Guidelines, with “the significance of a topic’s economic, environmental, and social impacts on the organization” as the x-axis, and “the influence on stakeholder assessments and decisions of a topic” as the y-axis, representatives of E Ink departments assessed the topics that concern stakeholders. After discussion between three higher-level executives, we summed up and distinguished the “core topics” of high sensitivity, “main topics” of medium sensitivity, and “supplementary topics” of low sensitivity. Information disclosures and future operational strategies in this report emphasize the response to the core and main topics and timely demonstrate the effectiveness of supplementary topics to fulfill the expectations on the part of stakeholders.

The matrix below shows the 24 material topics disclosed in our 2016 CSR report. After identification and prioritization, we have categorized them into eight core topics, ten main topics, and six supplementary topics.

Environment Prioritization, Safety Supremacy, Total Participation, Sustainable Operations

In 1992, YFY founded E Ink in Hsinchu Science Park to specialize in the research, development, manufacture, and sale of TFT-LCD, EPD, and miscellaneous display and peripheral technologies. Besides caring about employee safety and health and environmental and energy topics, E Ink management firmly believes that environment, safety, health, and energy (ESHE) are the foundation of business operations. Furthermore, E Ink management agrees that by assessing ESHE with appropriate tools, drawing up management plans, and enforcing them during routine operations and control to achieve safe operation, clean production, environmental protection, and energy conservation are key to sustainable operations. For these reasons, we are committed to making continual improvement to:

Since 2002, all E Ink plants passed ISO 14001 certification. Further in 2005, the Hsinchu Plant and Yangzhou Plant obtained the Verification Statement of Greenhouse Gas Assertions through ISO 14064-1 GHG inventory and passing external verification. Although the Linkou Plant is not an EPA-required GHG inventory plant, it implemented voluntary GHG inventory and external verification to review the effectiveness of inhouse energy conservation and emissions reduction and provide a reference for making future progress.

CSR report